29 Oct 2021 News

Electoral redistribution – Eastern Metro Region

The Electoral Boundaries Commission has completed their review of state electorate boundaries.

Under the new redistribution, from next year’s election a number of changes will occur for electorates in the Eastern Metropolitan Region including renaming of the entire region to ‘North-Eastern Metropolitan Region’ which will include the seats of Bundoora and Mill Park.

There are also changes to the electoral boundaries to a number of electorates within the Eastern Metropolitan Region:
  • Bayswater will shift south, and pick up all of Wantirna, parts of Wantirna South and Ferntree Gully, and lose Heathmont, Bayswater North, Kilsyth South and parts of The Basin,
  • Box Hill will lose sections of Surrey Hills and Nunawading, and pick up Box Hill South and Blackburn South,
  • Bulleen will pick up small parts of Doncaster East,
  • Croydon will lose part of Warranwood and Kilsyth, but pick up sections of Croydon South, Bayswater North and Kilsyth South.
  • Forest Hill and Mount Waverley will merge to make the new electorate of Glen Waverley, with many outer suburbs of those electorates being shifted into their neighbouring electorates.
  • Ringwood will pick up Heathmont and parts of Forest Hill, Nunawading and Blackburn, while losing part of Ringwood North.
  • Warrandyte will pick up parts of Ringwood North, Warranwood, and also a large part of Chirnside Park.

To find out more about the redistribution visit https://www.ebc.vic.gov.au/CurrentRedivision/FinalBoundaries.html